Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A family & foodie weekend

3 Comments

My brother Bob*, sister-in-law Hiyam and nephew Eric came for a visit last weekend. We had a nice visit, and cooked up a storm! I had already made a big pan of sweet rolls from our grandmother’s recipe (one of those recipes that starts out “1 cup of water, 2 cakes of yeast, and flour to make a sponge …” – it’s in her handwriting!) – fortunately I’ve made it plenty of times, so it makes sense. We had those for breakfast 2 mornings, and there were still a few left.

Muttie’s rolls.

On Saturday, Hiyam treated us to a Lebanese dinner, hummus, and her Mom’s cookies – wow, what a feast! Hiyam brings her Mom’s cookies when we gather at Christmas; they just melt in your mouth and everyone loves them! I didn’t get a good picture of her, and since I want her to keep on speaking to me, I won’t share the only one I took πŸ˜‰

Hummus.

Hiyam’s Mom’s cookies.

While we were cooking, Eric (the family roller coaster fan) went up and played at 6 Flags outside St. Louis, but of course he made it back in time for dinner! His dog Buster (a rescue) stayed home with us.

Eric & Buster.

My brother, Bob & me.

*If you’re into action & adventure/pulp fiction, look up Erwin K. Roberts here, or on Amazon πŸ˜‰

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “A family & foodie weekend

  1. Some of those cookies would make a nice Xmas present.

  2. Awesome…are u into sharing those recipes? I have been making cinnamon rolls and peacan rolls for a zillion year but would love to see your moms..and those cookies do look good…what kind are they?

  3. Good company, good food. What a wonderful weekend. That hummus looks to die for and those cookies are beautiful. The cinnamon rolls? Now, that’s just mean;-P

Leave a Reply

