Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Throwback Thursday

3 Comments

Thought I would stick my head back in the door 😉

My grandmother – practically everyone called her Muttie – was a huge part of my life growing up. She’s the one who taught me to knit, probably in self defense to keep me occupied, and though I don’t recall seeing her knit very much, she did a lot of crafts, including weaving. I still have her small 2-harness loom. She also taught me to cook, and I continue to learn new things in that field. Tomorrow would have been her 122nd birthday.

Muttie with Mom & Aunt Peg (ca. 1926)

Muttie with Mom & Aunt Peg (ca. 1926)

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

  1. Happy Birthday, Muttie! How nice to show the impact of “small” things (like teaching you to knit” have. Nice blog header, too!

  2. My grandma’s birthday is today April 17the born in 1894 which would make her 120 if she were alive. Our grandmas worked with their hands, crafted their own and their families clothes, and cooked everything from scratch. Bless the legacies they passed on!

  3. Which one is your Mum or Dad? I love hearing stories of people I adore. I’m so glad you’re back!

Leave a comment