Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Out & about …

3 Comments

We’ve had lots of birds and critters in the yard, including this wren, who was exploring below the deck yesterday,

Wren (again)

Wren (bug hunting)

(the rock “mulch” is the only way I’ve found to keep the chipmunks from digging up my plants)

Wren

Wren

and one of the pair of phoebes that’s nesting down under again (closer than usual – I snuck this shot over the railing)

Phoebe

Phoebe

and more of the local wildlife – I’m glad I’ve got a rabbit-proof fence around the veggies!

How many bunnies?

How many bunnies (trick question)?

and even caterpillars – since they’re Swallowtail caterpillars (actually 5 of them), I just picked up another dill plant πŸ˜‰

Swallowtail caterpillar

Swallowtail caterpillar

Prairie Sunrise has been spectacular, though the rains have made it a bit droopy. I counted 24 flowers and buds on it.

Rose bush

Rose bush

Prairie Sunrise bud.

Prairie Sunrise bud.

Just a little ways over, the hollyhocks are getting ready to bloom – can’t wait to see what color(s) are there.

Hollynocks

Hollyhocks

This was the sky last evening, and it’s supposed to be more of the same, which makes Toby one unhappy dog, even with his ThunderShirt!

Stormy sky

Stormy sky

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Out & about …

  1. Your garden and wildlife are wonderful. It seems like it is all livestock at my place. The raccoons, possums and coyotes don’t really show up when I’m awake. πŸ˜€ We do have a little red fox and some rabbits that I see every once in a while. They’re usually dashing from one cover to another.

  2. We use rock mulch in our planters, too. We use pinwheels in the planters, too, if the rocks aren’t enough to deter the squirrels.

  3. My goodness! Five caterpillars — they must love your dill. I think I’ll need some rock mulch in my vegetable garden. ;P I love the mystery of hollyhock blossom color.

Leave a Reply

