Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Garden and a little knitting

3 Comments

Lots of things in bloom now, with more to come. The peonies are right on time for Memorial Day. I’m wishing I’d put supports around them earlier, especially Festiva Maxima, which is so loaded it’s drooping badly, but it’s gorgeous!

Peony White Sands

Peony White Sands

Pink Peony

Pink Peony

Peony Festiva Maxima

Peony Festiva Maxima

I’ve made progress in the vegetable garden. There’s now a tomato plant next to each of the stakes but 1 – I’m still chasing a black/purple tomato plant for that spot. I had a Black Krim last year, but haven’t had any luck finding a plant this year. The asparagus (extreme right; planted last year) is doing nicely, and we should be able to pick more from it next year. There’s 1 row of okra in (blue tag, left) and a couple of rows of beans yet to plant – I get hungry just thinking about them πŸ˜‰garden0525

And here’s the gratuitous knitting picture – I finished a pair of socks in Lang JaWolle from stash (!); there’s another pair already on the needles. socks 0526Hope everyone has a lovely holiday!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Garden and a little knitting

  1. Your peonies are so lovely! I hope your find your black/purple tomato. soon. I’ve had a Black Cherokee and they’re very tasty.

  2. I’ve always loved peonies. Looks like a lovely harvest will be had! All the rain took out my watermelon, cantaloupe and pumpkins. I’ll have to get plants and replant them. My peppers, tomatoes and bush beans are all going gangbusters.

  3. Socks and peonies? Wow! The garden looks great. It should be exploding with the rain we’re expecting. I’m still unplugged, but I took a minute at work. Hugs, grrl!!!!

Leave a Reply

