Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Plum Cobbler: Take 2

2 Comments

I thought the previous plum cobbler was a little short on filling, so I tried again with about twice as many plums. It’s a good thing I put the dish on a foil-lined baking sheet!

Plum Cobbler – Take 2

And closer …

Annie suggested turbinado sugar for the top, which I don’t have, so I used Demerara sugar for some crunch instead.

Turns out Annie and I are both working on sweaters from (or in my case, inspired by) Gladys Thompson’s Patterns for Guernseys, Jerseys & Arans. Go and take a peek at hers, which is made in some really yummy looking handspun! Mine, which I pulled from the UFO pile, is Satakieli from Schoolhouse Press. The body is done, and I’m now working on the first sleeve, so there’s progress! The color in the photo isn’t even close—my beloved greens (this is actually a pretty dark green) do not photograph well 😦

The weather’s been pretty good lately; much cooler, and we’ve been getting rain, which has made the plants much happier. This spring, I planted some scarlet runner beans in a big pot with a wire cage, and they grew a bit, then sulked when it turned hot, even though I kept watering them.

Scarlet Runner Beans

Look what I found hiding in the leaves! I have no idea if it’s still edible, but it looks like would almost feed a small family 😉

And the rosebush is blooming again – I think there are 7 buds this time. This has been the brightest spot in what has otherwise been a rather dismal gardening year 🙂

Prairie Sunrise rose.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “Plum Cobbler: Take 2

  1. Your cobbler looks yummy, Joy. And, I recognize that pattern! Yay. And, that rose is so lovely. Hugs, girl. Thanks for the update!

  2. That been is amazing and you are making me hungry Ms. Cobbler!

Leave a Reply

