Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Less & more.

3 Comments

There’s a lot less of our walnut tree today than there was yesterday, but we’re hoping this will improve its chances of survival. The construction project certainly didn’t help, and then getting hit with such a hot, dry summer made it even worse.

Walnut tree: Before.

The tree guy was here bright and early this morning:

He trimmed it back to live wood, plus he took a fallen branch off the deck roof for us. Now we water and hope:

Walnut tree: After.

Things are much cheerier in the garden. Most of the tomatoes have set, one is starting to turn color, new bean plants are coming up (replanted after rabbit-proofing the fence!), and there are a few cucumbers and zucchini in the wings.

Brandywine tomato.

Cucumber

Round zucchini

And for a spot of color, the native tall bellflower – I love the color!

Tall bellflower.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Less & more.

  1. We have a black walnut in our front yard that has gone through similar trauma. Glad yours has survived. Oh, to have a garden. I enjoy vicariously with every garden picture my friends post.

  2. I got a 30 minute shower last night and it has helped so much. Not more than 1″, but I’m thrilled. I just stared outside and enjoyed. It’s good to hear from you. Are you leaving for camp soon? I can’t remember. I’m also glad you got the tree trimmed. I hope the poor thing can make it. I hate when trees die.

  3. Wow. That is dramatic seeing before and after. Much more exciting than my haircut last week and I think your trimmer is a bit more handsome than mine. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

