Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Whew!

3 Comments

This was taken the other day, but there hasn’t been much improvement – the digital thermometer said 105 when I looked a few minutes ago. Apart from getting out first thing to “play” in the garden a bit, it’s hard to get motivated to do very much beyond the essentials. It’s supposed to get better tomorrow, then the current forecast calls for highs in the upper 80’s through the week, which sounds wonderful right now πŸ˜‰

Given the heat and almost total lack of rain, the garden’s doing remarkably well. We’ve had 3 nice pickings (each a meal for 2) from the first bean row, but the 2nd planting was practically cleaned out by the rabbits. We’ve since added a ring of 24″ high chicken wire around the fence, which seems to have solved that problem, so I’ll plant more, as soon as my seed order comes.

I think all the tomato plants have at least a few tomatoes, but I’d never grown grape tomatoes before, so the size of the bunches surprised me. These are yellow Riesentraube (an heirloom variety).

Grape tomato: Riesentraube.

The okra isn’t up to full speed yet, but when it gets there, I’m hoping for enough that we can pickle some.

Okra: Clemson Spineless.

And there has been some knitting – notice the curly strand (upper left)? I’ve only got 1 ball, and forgot to weigh it, so sailed right on past half and had to back up. Guess it’s going to be a shorter scarf than I’d envisioned, since the alternative would be to rip it all out and start over with 3 pattern repeats instead of 4 😦

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Whew!

  1. “Whew” is right! Your 105 makes our 100 look more tolerable. What is the pattern for that lovely lace scarf? I’m having some trouble finding knitting that I actually want to do in this heat, and that pattern would be lovely for a silk blend yarn I have that I think I could actually stand to knit with!

  2. Your Reisentraube looks just a bit further along than mine. Mine is in a pot and the ripening ones aren’t quite as far along, so you should be getting the first picking. Cherry or grape tomatoes are so much fun to grow. It’s hard to get them into the house. They tend to be snacked on all the way back inside;-p I love your little scarf. Sometimes you just don’t want a bunch of extra knitting (especially when you have on a slimmer lined coat). I think it’s lovely. Did you get any rain last night? I got 4 drops, but at least the clouds knocked down the temps a bit!!! Take care.

Leave a Reply

