Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Timing is all …

6 Comments

The day after I took this photo, the babies all left the nest underneath the deck. I’ve seen the parents since, but not the youngsters.

Four’s definitely a crowd!

Both of the rose bushes I ordered have bloomed – Harison’s Yellow which I’ve wanted for a long time, just had 1 blossom, but it’s putting out lots of little shoots (note the thorns – truly wicked!).

Harison’s Yellow

And an iris – my start came from my Mom’s garden, and may well have come from her parents’ garden. I’ve always heard it called ochroleuca, but evidently it’s actually iris orientalis – anyway, it’s pretty and very hardy!

Iris orientalis (ochroleuca)

Spinners coming tomorrow – can’t wait πŸ™‚

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Timing is all …

  1. Boy is really is crowed…maybe that was the plan…have a bunch and they will leave.
    I got too close to my rose bush over a month ago and I still have a huge scrap across my back…nothing open on it yet.
    Spinning, I havent touched my wheel except to dust…I cant wait but i dont see it happehing until later in September…bridal shower, camp, wedding, then back to Wiscoinsin to watch my niece do another Ironman…then mayabe wheel.

  2. That was one crowded nest. Have a terrific time today. Wish I could be there, but I will see you soon!!!!!

  3. The babies never hang around for long. How quickly they grow! Love your white iris.

  4. What a great baby bird photo, Joy! Lovely iris.

  5. I love that nest overflowing with life and the iris. Iris is my favorite to paint!

  6. The joys of empty nesting… Do you think birds do the grandparent thing?

Leave a Reply

