Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Garden & other goodies

7 Comments

We finally have the garden done, complete with fence and gate – I just need to add a layer of chicken wire to close up the gaps left by the rounded corners on the gates. The new asparagus (along the right edge) is starting to poke through, I got a few seeds planted yesterday and a fairly good idea of where the tomatoes will go once we’re past the likelihood of frost. The oval highlight in the left background is where the bluebirds seem to have settled 🙂

Garden - finally!

Over on the other side of the yard, what started out as a single mock orange shrub has multiplied into a large clump that’s currently covered with lovely fragrant blossoms – I love the smell!

Mock Orange.

I enjoy watching America’s Test Kitchen, and found a really good recipe – French-Style Pot-Roasted Pork Loin (I think you have to sign up to see the recipe, but it’s free). As with many of their recipes, it’s a bit fiddly, but worth it, at least in this case. You butterfly the roast (cut 1/3 of the way down lengthwise but not quite all the way through, open, then cut remaining part in half) and spread sautéd garlic in it, then roll, tie and season it, brown the outside, cover and roast in the oven at 225 deg.

French-Style Pot-Roasted Pork Loin: Browned and ready to go in the oven.

Since I didn’t have Herbes de Provence on hand, I subbed an Italian seasoning mix, which worked very well. It’s a great technique that I’ll use (and vary) again – yum!

Roasted and sliced - first cut is at the bottom, 2nd cut in the middle.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

7 thoughts on “Garden & other goodies

  1. Enjoyed reading about your Garden your starting, and the Recipe! I am not a Knitter, do Crochet tho! Need to try that Roast! 🙂 Thank You.

  2. Yummers. And, when will you be planting that gorgeous plot?

  3. Your fenced garden looks so good to me, especially with the gates. Have you done this in the past or is this a new location?

    Bluebirds are such a lovely flash of color!

    The roast looks delicious, Joy. I’m going to add that recipe to my to-trys!

  4. (word press is making me crazy!) Second try….

    Love the garden fencing and the gates! Do you do this set up every year or is this new? Bluebirds are such a lovely flash of color! How fun to have them near your garden.

    I’ll have to try the roast, it looks delicious.

  5. Making me hungry…It all looks so nice.

  6. What a nice big garden! Your veggie drawer will overfloweth.

  7. I’m hungry now!! That looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

