Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Cats, colcannon & crazy weather

3 Comments

When we were bringing in the groceries other day, I heard a peculiar noise and turned around to find both cats “mugging” the bag of cat food I’d just set on the floor. I was only able to catch 1 mugger – Maggie had already scurried away.

Amber - caught in the act!

The weather’s still been on a roller coaster, *up, down; rep from *. The warm spells have gotten the bulbs revved up …

Daffodils and thyme.

and then it does this sort of thing

Iced purple kale (last summer's planter).

I love watching this redbud through the seasons.

Redbud with snow.

Colcannon with kale and sautéd onions.

I had some nice kale that needed to be used, so decided to fix a batch of colcannon (it can be made with kale or with cabbage. Evidently there are 2 distinct schools of thought on this – I’ve made it both ways). My version uses mashed potatoes, onions and at least on this occasion, chopped kale that’s been simmered briefly in the the potato water, then drained and stirred in. I also put the whole business into a non-stick skillet and brown it like a giant potato cake. I’ll leave the turning over process to your imagination, but it was very tasty, and didn’t last long 😉

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Cats, colcannon & crazy weather

  1. All that tells me is that Amber is one tuff kitty and is to be feared;-P My bulbs look the same and my Exberry azalea is budding out as is my rhododendron which makes me veryvery nervous. The colcannon looks yummy and very satisfying. Hugs, girl. Looks like a decent weekend weatherwise.

  2. That colcannon looks pretty good. I’ve never heard of it or seen it before. Where does the dish come from?

    Jim W.

  3. I’ll take potato pancakes any way I can get them. 😀

Leave a Reply

