Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Dear blog …

3 Comments

I’m sorry you’ve been so neglected lately! Things just seem to have been really hectic here, but I’ll really try to do better.

This morning got off to an interesting start when I looked out the kitchen window and saw this:

My best guess is that it’s an immature red-shouldered hawk, but I was amazed at how many songbirds were still hanging out in the bushes. It stayed for a while before flying off.

I just completed a couple of deadlines, including a knitting project that I can’t show yet, but since the Winter (K105 – much better photos!) issue of Knitter’s is out, I can share these:

Amber Waves

White Hot

While I didn’t get any actual books for Christmas, I did receive an Amazon gift card, so that (plus a little) turned into 2 Jacques Pepin books I’d had on my wish list for a while: Jacques Pépin’s Complete Techniques, and Essential Pepin (EP), which also accompanies his latest PBS series. Neither is exactly light reading (OR a light book – 830 and 685 pages, respectively), but I find them very interesting and inspiring. I’ve already tried the Cauliflower Gratin recipe from EP (with some smoked paprika added), as I had a nice head on hand – quite simple, and very yummy!

Cauliflower Gratin from Essential Pepin

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Dear blog …

  1. Your gratin looks almost as yummy as your knitting!

  2. as i scrolled down i got real excited when i got to the bowl…ok i was eyeballing those sweaters too.

  3. Amber Waves is stunning. I love White Hot, too, but I’m so not sleeveless anymore;-( And, the gratin? Yummers!!! It’s good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

