Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Bits & pieces …

6 Comments

I’ve been working on patterns, and finally got this beaded bag ready to put up at Patternfish.

Crystal Beaded Bag

I hope to add more designs soon, including the shawl Amber’s modeling here (once I get the pattern written).

We had an abrupt change of weather overnight. This morning there was no doubt that it’s November—perfect soup weather. I got a couple of nice big stewing hens when we went to Soulard Farmers’ Market in St. Louis on Saturday, so I made a pot of soup (chicken, rice, carrots, onions and mushrooms) with the broth and most of the meat from 1 and put the other in the freezer for later.

I also came home with some squash that I’ll probably roast, though I might just cook the acorn squash in the microwave and put the usual butter and brown sugar on it.

The rest of the tomatoes are slowing turning color, so we still have a few left 🙂

The last ones ...

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Bits & pieces …

  1. Joy! You busy girl. I want that pattern;-P And, the beaded bag is perfectly lovely. It is perfect soup/stew weather. We’re having chicken and dumplings this weekend!!! Lucky you. Still fresh tomatoes!!

  2. Amber looks so gorgeous modeling! Your soup looks delicious. I’m finally getting around to making my turtle bean soup today.

  3. I see a cushaw striped pumpkin in there! Those are awesome!

  4. It’s fairly small (only ~3#) but I hadn’t had one in ages and couldn’t resist. Some Old Miners call it a French pumpkin 🙂

  5. Joy, the first year I planted a garden I planted one of those vines. It grew 7 pumpkins! I will have to write the story of that garden sometime … Maybe this winter when I’m wishing for spring. ;p~

  6. Hey Joy, it’s been a while.

    I’ve been doing hospice with my brother, so I haven’t been knitting much, except sock and now a Circumnavigate Sweater for my son-in-law. This has been a VERY CHALLENGING YEAR

Leave a Reply

