Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

More signs of fall

6 Comments

There was some frost in the area over the weekend. Since our tomatoes got a late start, and currently have quite a few nice green ones, I wanted to try to save them. Fortunately there’s an assortment of old sheets, quilts and a moving pad that gets pressed into service at time like this — it’s even got a couple of buckets of water in there!

Early Arkansas greenhouse ;o)

Some nice ones.

If it looks like it’s going to turn too cold, there’s always pickle relish!

The Virginia creeper is turning gorgeous shades of red – I went over to look at the vine that’s growing on the tree near the deck and found a little more than expected. I’ve no idea what kind of caterpillar it is, but it’s at least as big as a large tomato hornworm.

Side view.

Still lots of yellow around – I love these!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “More signs of fall

  1. OMG! You made me laugh out loud! Thank you. And, those colors? Stunning.

  2. Wow. That caterpillar is AMAZING!

  3. Interesting critter. We covered our sweet potatoes with translucent plastic awning thingies leftover from patio repair

  4. hello joy, I´m from argentina, it´s a pleasure to read your blog, and watch the pictures. specially congratulations for your tomatoes, it makes me remember my father´s tomatoes, when I was a child. and of course, I remember the caterpillar -oruga- . I like a lot its colours. thank you for sharing this pictures, god bless you. clara.

  5. hello joy, it´s a pleasure your blog, I like looking for your knits, and the tomatoes. it makes me remember my father´s tomatoes, when I was a child. and of course, where it is a plant of tomatoes, there is a caterpillar- oruga -. I like a lot its beautiful colours. thank you for sharing these pictures joy, and sorry my english please. god bless you.

  6. Muchas gracias – su ingles es mejor que mi espanol! What nice memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

