Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Steam(y) …

4 Comments

heat makes it pretty hard to drum up much enthusiasm for going outdoors, let alone doing anything when it’s so hot and muggy. Even the lows are supposed to be above 80 the rest of this week, while the highs are heading over the 100 mark – welcome to summer in Missouri!

It’s probably best to stay inside, knit, spin and read, but I just couldn’t resist getting outside for a little while this morning. There is knitting happening, but not currently of the blogable variety.

Blackberry lily.

Tall bellflower.

Both of these grow all over around here. I gathered some bellflower seeds along our road years ago, and now they come up all over the yard, and I love the way the spent blackberry lily flowers spin themselves into a tight little twist πŸ™‚

Great spangled fritillary.

Bee on coneflower.

This last photo wasn’t good news – hornets built a nest on the gate post next to the house, and someone got stung several times the other day. I’ve seen these nests up in trees before, but didn’t realize they built so close to the ground.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on “Steam(y) …

  1. WE had a nest in an apple tree one year, hidden in obscurity until I sent my parents out to pick the apples. Those little stinging buggers will build almost anywhere, as long as they are undisturbed.

  2. Wasps are such mean critters! Be careful. I love your blackberry lilies. Mine all died when we had the ramp put in for my Mom. I did find a butterfly weed that I had planted at least 4 years ago. I was thrilled!!! Hopefully, my sister-in-law will give me more blackberry lilies. Stay cool and keep an eye on the Mr. and Toby. Hugs!!!!!

  3. It’s pretty hot & steamy in these parts, too!

  4. The weather here in WI isn’t any better, Joy. Maybe by next week we’ll have a short break in the heat just in time for Camp. I’d like that….

Leave a Reply

