Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Year of the Cicadas …

6 Comments

What’s currently coming out of the ground is a crop of 13-year cicadas, and they’re all over the place! Unfortunately Toby seems to think they’re snack food, and they don’t play nicely with his tummy, so I’m having to restrict his access to the yard for a little while.

1. Holes are about the size of a pencil.

2. Empty cicada shells.

3. Adult cicada.

The wild honeysuckle is in full bloom right now, as is the clump of mock orange bushes and both smell wonderful!

Honeysuckle.

Mock orange.

Rachel‘s been tempting me againβ€”I got a very full mailer from her the other day, and here’s what was in it:

Bluefaced Leicester/silk top; Juniper.

I can’t wait to start playing with it πŸ™‚

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Year of the Cicadas …

  1. Toby has to watch that snack food! πŸ˜€ Lovely flowers and fiber!

  2. It’s gonna be one loud summer.

  3. YUCK ON ALL..
    HOW DO U GET PEOPLE TO SEND U SUCH NICE FIBERS?

  4. Yuck too. I have not seen or heard cicadas yet. but I got yarn in the mail. Belv is a picky eater.

  5. That fiber is gorgeous. It’s gonna be a sweater, isn’t it? I’m so excited for you. I’m sorry Toby has tummy trouble. I would think the cicada’s would be a good protein source;-P I haven’t seen my crop of the durned things yet, but I know they’re on their way. I’ve never missed them yet. Happy sunny Saturday, dear friend!!!

  6. Pretty flowers, pretty fiber. The bugs? Not so much. I don’t think we get them here in northern CO. Yay!

Leave a Reply

