Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A pretty exciting morning …

3 Comments

While I was talking to Mom on the phone this morning (fortunately using a Bluetooth!), this pileated woodpecker (crow-sized) landed in 1 of the 2 trees right up by the house, so I ran for the nearest camera and started snapping. Mom got a complete blow-by-blow as I was bird-chasing 😉

At times like this, I really appreciate the “Sports” mode that just keeps shooting for as long as you hold down on the button. I didn’t expect him to stick around as long as he did, but he (male has red mustashe which is visible in the head-on shot, female has black) went back and forth between the 2 trees several times, giving me a wonderful photo op.

As you may notice, there’s more snow, and judging from the forecasts, we’re not done yet. Sounds like great knitting & spinning weather!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “A pretty exciting morning …

  1. so jellous..awesome shot Joy..

  2. I have had them before, but not this year. Aren’t they gorgeous?? I was furious yesterday morning when I awakened to 3″ of snow. The dog and I stayed in until I decided to venture out to grocery shop. Sheesh. I’m now officially sick of winter;-P

  3. One of the highlights of my Renewable Resources fieldwork 30-odd years ago was walking right up to a Pileated Woodpecker in the forest. What a privilege!

Leave a Reply

