Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

New scarf!

2 Comments

A dear friend brought me a special skein (335 yds) of yarn a while ago. It’s soft greens and blues, 70% superwash merino/30% seacell, from Wild Wheel in Coupville WA and it’s been aging in my stash while I waited for just the right project to show off its loveliness.

Enter a new coat with a shawl collar, fine in mild weather, but in the winter, I really need something to fill in that space, so the yarn has become a Moebius scarf that will wrap 2 or 3 times around.

Details: Pattern stitch is Bird’s Eye (Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Patterns, pg 197), a multiple of 4 sts and 4 rows. Scarf is worked on 36 sts, 32 sts in pattern + 2 garter st border sts on each side (5mm/size 8 needle). Approx 5½ x 80 inches; after a half twist, the end is grafted to the beginning to make it harder to lose the scarf.

If I did it again, I think I’d make it a little wider (4 or 8 sts) and not quite as long. The size was determined by the amount of yarn – I just knitted until I ran out.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “New scarf!

  1. It is quite lovely and I’m sure the ability to wrap several times makes it very versatile.

  2. It’s lovely, Joy!

Leave a Reply

