Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Small …

3 Comments

but deadly—at least if you happen to be a small bird. This little hawk – I’m fairly sure it was a sharp-shinned hawk (about blue jay sized) – was hanging out in a bush a couple of mornings ago, acting as if the bird feeders were his personal buffet.

I snapped a couple of photos from inside, then when walking out on the deck and making noise had no effect, I decided to see just how close I could get before he’d take off. I walked very slowly across the yard (out in the open, no cover at all) and must have been 6-8 feet from him before he flew away.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Small …

  1. Those little feeders are like a drive-thru for the predators;-D

  2. Ah, we had one of those last year that considered our deck feeders his own personal buffet. Haven’t seen any this year but will keep my eyes open. Not easily intimidated are they.

  3. I remind myself that the hawks have to eat too. More often than not, the little birds escape them.

Leave a Reply

