Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

“Ships and shoes

4 Comments

and sealing wax…” somehow, socks and seeds and chicken soup doesn’t have quite the same ring, but I thought of that line from Lewis Carroll’s The Walrus and The Carpenter when I was trying to come up with a title this morning. Usually I love the odd bits of stuff that pop into my mind, except when I can’t remember the rest of it, or the source, or … well you get the idea πŸ˜‰

The socks: Lana Grossa Meilenweit Cotton Fantasy (45% cotton/42% wool/13% polyamide), color #817. I will definitely look for this yarn again!

The soup: Chicken broth, maitake mushrooms, onion, carrots, green peas, little bowtie pasta, part of a rotisserie chicken and whatever seasonings jumped off the shelf. Very tasty.

The seeds: A couple of goldenrods that lasted long enough to go to seed. I couldn’t resist the way the light was shining through them.

And then there’s Amber, who’s discovered the sill of the bow window in my office (I was outside, looking in). πŸ˜‰

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on ““Ships and shoes

  1. GARGH! Goldenrod… and it’s sinister counterpart ragweed. The bane of my existence every autumn. πŸ˜€ Soup looks yummy@

  2. That soup looks great. the socks do too. I love to see sun shining through and around objects in the afternoon too.

  3. There is nothing like a new pair of socks (and, those are beautiful), some warm soup, and new clean windows;-P Love the pics!!!!

Leave a Reply

