Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Pantry Meal.

3 Comments

I fixed one of my favorite pantry or “can opener” meals today, so-called because after sautéing a chopped onion (or 2 if they’re small) and browning a chunk of sliced smoked sausage (I decided to try turkey sausage this time – I think it’s a keeper), the rest consists of 4 cans of hominy (2 yellow, 2 white, well drained), a couple of cans of diced tomatoes, 1 small can of diced green chilis and whatever seasoning strikes your fancy. This time I used a bunch of garlic, a couple of packets of Sazon Goya, and probably a few grinds of the pepper mill. It was yummy today, but the flavor gets even better after it sits a day or 2 (if it lasts that long) 😉

Hominy & Sausage

The girls have been busy; Maggie’s been helping me with my knitting (another for now unbloggable project)…

Maggie

and Amber’s been working on her stretches (cat bed measures 16″ square!).

Amber

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Pantry Meal.

  1. The kitties are hovering. The weather is getting cooler. Mine is lap sitting again. BTW, those pix are fabulous.

  2. Kittehs! scritch, scritch, scritch…..

    It’s great to have pantry meal ingredients tucked away. I do something vaguely similar with turkey sausage but I use a box of Zataran’s red beans and rice as a base. Add onion, pepper and garlic to the mix and a salad on the side and we’re good to go.

  3. Looks delicious, Joy. I do have to admit I’ve not consumed hominy, regardless of the color, just because it hasn’t been an option. I’ll have to investigate!

Leave a Reply

