Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A mixed bag

3 Comments

Help, I’ve fallen off the blogging-wagon and it’s really hard to get back on! 😉 Since I got back from Knitting Camp (which was a blast as usual) it seems like things have been flipping back and forth between busy and totally crazy.

Some progress on The Project – now there are shelves in my office/studio closet (though they have to come back out to be stained/sealed), but what seemed like it an awkward corner turned out to be perfect for spinning wheel storage. I also got my Jensen double-treadle wheel out of storage and gave her a good cleaning and oiling  – isn’t she gorgeous? Still spins beautifully too. I think this corner may be her permanent home, but not sure about that yet.

In the crazy weather department, we heard a very loud boom one day, the power blinked off briefly, so only thought was “gee, that was close!” Later when Toby & I went for a walk I saw how close – it split a big cedar tree just a couple hundred feet down the road from the house – whew!

The one hot pepper I planted plant (tag says it’s a cowhorn cayenne) has been growing like mad – almost like a zucchini. We’ve even given some away.

One of our daughters & her family came over shortly after Camp, and we put our son-in-law to work helping cook dinner to break in the new kitchen. Mary & I moved stuff from the old pantry into the new one (and I can actually find most of it) so good progress there!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “A mixed bag

  1. Perfect summer for the move!!!!!!!

  2. What great use of your little closet. The new kitchen looks like it’s going to work out fine.

  3. I love that closet! Whew on the close call, poor cedar.

    You’re doing better than I am on the blogging front. 😀

Leave a Reply

