Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Growing

8 Comments

The gardening this year has been pretty much limited to planters; since the house project is still creeping along (progress really IS happening, it just doesn’t seem like there’s much movement), most other growing things have had to fend for themselves. The daylilies seem to be thriving on the neglect, but if I leave things alone too long, I’m afraid the hostas may be crowded out by overly enthusiastic ferns and coneflowers!

We haven’t had much rain lately, so the plants need to be watered every day. As we have a steady supply of milk jugs, I decided to try one as a a drip waterer. It works very well providing there’s enough space next to the plant to set the jug. The original version had 7-8 holes (hot ice pick), but the flow was too fast so I taped over a few; 4-5 holes seems to be about right πŸ˜‰

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

8 thoughts on “Growing

  1. The drip waterer is a good idea for tubs/planters. I end up having to water most of my containers at least once a day by the time August comes around. Of course this week the rain is doing it for me which is always welcome.

    Hope you had a wonderful holiday.

  2. Aren’t you a smarty. Everything I have (including weeds) have gone crazy this summer. At least the lack of rain has meant a slow down on the rampant growth. It’s too hot to divide perennials! Gorgeous flowers, Joy!!!!

  3. I was thinking of trying the wicking method of watering pots. Have you tried it?

  4. I Wish that I could grow anything. I suppose if I tried harder…but I’m too busy spinning and knitting!

  5. That milk jug idea is genius. Your tomatoes look so good!

  6. Drip waterer? How do you set it up?

  7. Ann beat me to the question. Do you have to suck water out of it to get it started?

  8. Oh my!
    Suddenly I need to rescue that last milk jug!
    I’ll bet 1/2 gallons would work too, for pots with less room….
    (DH is really going to wonder when I start putting things like this all over the house).

Leave a Reply

