Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Measure twice …

5 Comments

or in this case, count at least twice; a knitter’s cautionary tale. The sweater was neatly joined at the shoulders, I’d worked both front bands and had planned on picking up and knitting the neck band last. It’s a very bad sign when you don’t have the same number of stitches on both sides of the neck – eh???

Oops!

Note the 2 horizontal safety pins (the yarn color is more accurate here). I’d very carefully counted to make sure that both fronts had the same number of rows at the armhole edge; what I missed (do you think I can blame it on the construction?) was that I’d worked an extra 1/2 repeat of the pattern on the left front, making that side of the neck shallower (duh!). After much muttering, I frogged both front bands, took the left front loose at the shoulder and ripped back to the pin, then redid it to match the right side. The entire front and neck edge is now on a needle, and I’m trying to decide whether to mess with buttonholes, or just go with clasps 😉

While Maggie has always liked Toby’s dog beds, until very recently, Amber avoided them like the proverbial plague. Now she’s suddenly decided she loves his bolster bed (27″ between bolsters) – I may have to get another so he’s got a shot.

Who, me???

I needed to come up with a quickie meal the other day and found a partial package of andouille in the fridge, so I sautéed that with a large chopped onion, about 1 cup of rice, a can of tomatoes and chicken stock, simmered it all for about 15 minutes, and garnished it with some cooked okra. It turned out pretty tasty!

Not quite jambalaya.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “Measure twice …

  1. Oh Joy, I feel your pain…totally understood the frustration…but it helps me to know the pros sometimes have a Oopps.

  2. No matter what bed Toby has, Amber will want it. At least, that’s been my experience to date;-P

  3. Joy…I am having a ball on your blog and now following your designs, on Creative Knitting…oh….

  4. Sorry about the knitting boo-boo.
    My own little boo-boo (well, not so little):
    I just finished a shell that was a ufo. I was so proud that I finished it, until I tried it on….it would fit Goliath. (And I’m an XL) I knew it looked large but thought it was just a shell with a loose fit. Surely I swatched….didn’t I….of course, I di……, oh oh, it’s been so long since I had started it (a few years :), I’m not sure. And on top of that, I had SC’d around the neck and arm holes very neatly into every stitch…..it looks too cluttered, so I’ll have to undo that and maybe try SC every other stitch. I wonder if I could just seam a half inch to an inch in on the side seams?????? The arm holes seem large enough. Need to think a while on this. Oh, rats!

  5. Oh, that is a knitter’s “ouchie” and even worse for a designer. That’s where being an expert fudger comes in. And yes, blame it on the construction. Why not? We started blaming everything on a neighbor by the name of Mike. It is just a joke based on the one and only time he put his garbage cans out on the wrong day and we followed like sheep. We just say, “It’s Mike’s fault.”

Leave a Reply

