Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Food, flowers & a floor

6 Comments

Since I had a bunch of kale, some potatoes and a piece of flank steak that were all rapidly approaching must-go status, I made a batch of Colcannon (mashed potatoes, with a chopped sautéd onion and blanched kale folded in, then browned like a giant potato cake – non-stick skillet very highly recommended!) and broiled the flank steak to a nice degree of rareness – yum!

The 2nd stalk on the amaryllis is getting ready to open – originally I thought there were 3 buds, but there are 4 🙂

The flooring guys are moving along. The latest concern is that they think they’re going to run out of the hardwood – eh? I hope there are no dye lots in oak flooring!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Food, flowers & a floor

  1. Looks yummy. We ate at Schlafly’s this evening. Wonderful food. Highly recommended!! Your office floor is gorgeous! I have to give that squirrel some strokes for sheer grit if nothing else. I have that feeder, too;-D

  2. I don’t know how you captured the squirrel doing gymnastics on the feeder. Great photos and good progress on the building. Love the oak flooring.

  3. I love the flooring! Fantastic! (Will you come up and cook for me…that looks and sounds yummy!)

  4. That squirrel is tenacious! I love the flooring. Gorgeous! I wonder what they when new lumber is a different color than the old lumber. Do you think they alternate planks every other row? 🙂

  5. My old neighbors did some remodeling, taking out a wall between two small rooms in (surprise!) their 100+ year old house to make one big one. The rooms both had OAK floors, but one room was white and the other red! You’d never have known, walking from room-to-room, but once laid side-by-side… I don’t remember how they resolved the situation.

  6. I’m actually trying to respond to the post about lilies, but it won’t let me…
    I knew about Christmastime cat killing plants (poinsettias), but not about lilies. And are they all lilies? or just the ones we call Easter Lilies?? (says the woman with a garden full of all sorts of lilies and two cats). Should I now fret about the Stargazers I can’t resist bringing in every now and then? (One part of me says: don’t be silly, they’ve been fine for the past 8 years, why would THIS year’s lilies be more dangerous; but the other part frets)

Leave a Reply

