Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Snowdrops!

6 Comments

… and other clues that spring may be getting close: Unlike the proverbial watched pot, watched flowers do eventually bloom. πŸ™‚

I’ve been hearing red-winged blackbird songs for nearly a week, but only seen them the last few days. Today there were at least 3 singing, but they were mostly staying in the cedars. I finally saw this one through some branches (he’s only got the yellow part of his shoulder patch showing). The cardinals are also singing, but they were much more visible.

ETA Sunday: After chasing after the red-winged blackbirds yesterday, they’re out at the feeder in plain sight today – go figure!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Snowdrops!

  1. The color of the bird is amazing!! Snowdrops are one of my favorite flowers and I rarely see them. Thank you!

  2. The cardinals are busy around here too, it’s great to hear their song in the morning. The last of the snow just left my garden patch today so tomorrow I’ll brave the muck to see if the daffs made it through the winter.

  3. Not only are the cardinals visible, but they are cranky, too;-D I love your snowdrops. And, I wish we had red-winged blackbirds. They used to hunt for bugs in the fields around the airport before the airport took away nature. Hasn’t the sunshine been like a balm?

  4. I am listening to a cardinal right now. The red-wings aren’t back here yet. Then once we start seeing them, they seem to be everywhere on fence posts along the roads.

  5. What do you put in your feeder that the red-winged blackbirds like?

  6. The cardinals aren’t here yet… 😦
    but I’m seeing wee green tips peeking out in the beds where I know crocuses and grape hyacinths have been waiting to come out.
    Time to start walking the yard to see what’s happening.
    The fish were a bit more awake today. I’m thinking the 65 degree sunny day had something to do with that!

Leave a Reply

