Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Taking a walk …

7 Comments

Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul… then, I account it high time to get to sea as soon as I can. (Moby Dick)

Ishmael’s solution was go to to sea, for me there’s a point at which I simply need to get out in the woods for a while. I’m lucky to have woods nearby, so I grabbed a camera the other day and went out to see what I could find. Come on along!

Earlier I’d been looking out a window and saw 3 deer running up the field right across the road, so I ducked through the fence and checked for prints. The hawk regularly hunts from that wire, and I found raccoon tracks by the creek down the hill.

1 & 2. Red-shouldered* hawk; 3. deer track; 4. raccoon

There’s a creek down the hill behind us—right now there’s water in it, but it dries up in the summer.

Ice on the creek.

On the way back up the hill there’s a brush pile that includes chunks of a tree we had to cut down. It’s been interesting to watch what’s been growing on the pieces. I love the colors.

Moss & fungus.

The snow’s almost all gone now, except where it was piled up—the bad part is that it’s been replaced by a sea of mud, which is not nice for dog-walking!

*ETA: Sorry for the sloppy drive-by hawk ID! The comment about the reddest red-tail hawk had me thinking, I got another look at it today, then hit the bird book, and it’s a red-shouldered hawk, not a red-tailed hawk – oops!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

7 thoughts on “Taking a walk …

  1. Lovely. Nice gray sky, too. My back yard is waterlogged and Grover’s paw prints are all over the kitchen floor. yay.

  2. Thanks for taking us along on your walk, Joy!

  3. You’re welcome – wish you could come and walk with me 😉

  4. Exactly! I took advantage of sun and warmer temps last week to take a couple of long walks, which did wonders for my winter blahs. Then I spent an hour this morning shoveling yesterday’s snow, since it’s too icy out to hit the streets. Being stuck inside isn’t good for the soul.

  5. Nice walk! That is the reddest red-tailed hawk I’ve ever seen.

  6. Love the new blog banner. Your photos and walk description are inspiring, Joy. I should get out in our woods before the mud starts.

  7. Ahhh.
    woods!
    I miss woods.
    We’ve got to drive a piece to get to woods. Fields we’ve got… everywhere (can’t get to anything but the pharmacy without going past fields). But woods take intent and time.
    Must remember to make time and go there when it’s warm enough to spend more time IN the woods than getting there.

Leave a Reply

