Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Books & things

3 Comments

I thoroughly enjoyed Julia Child’s book, My Life in France, and in a total change of time and place, I’m now reading An Accomplished Woman by Jude Morgan (link to a short blog interview with the author). If you like Jane Austen or possibly Georgette Heyer, this is fun!

Today’s mail brought a nice surprise. In 1998, my afghan design was published in Country Woman Christmas 1998; it’s been reprinted in Taste of Home Christmas 2009, and I just received a copy.

I’ve been thinking about making a rain garden when we get done with all the construction mess, so I looked online this morning and found a really neat brochure on rain gardens,  as a PDF from the Wisconsin DNR, which seems to cover the topic very well. They have information and plant lists for heavy clay soils (that’s us!) as well as sandy soils, and many of the plants are native here as well.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Books & things

  1. I have often thought about a rain garden. You make me want to look into it, too;-P Happy Thursday!!!

  2. I am still high on Julia Child — I found her so refreshing and surprising! Not what I expected at all.

    What a great brochure — thanks for the link!

  3. How very cool to have your pattern picked up in a new publication! Rain gardens are so interesting. I am sure I’ve read that brochure. 😀

Leave a Reply

