Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Get your kicks …

4 Comments

Driving across I-44 on the way back from Mom’s I took a break at the recently redone rest area at about mile 109 (a little west of Lebanon MO; there’s one on each side) and I have to say WOW! If you’re not familiar with Interstate 44 across Missouri, it follows the path of Route 66 fairly closely, and that’s the theme of the rest area. It has a very retro feel, with neat historical information panels and a couple of old gas pumps in the Welcome Center part. The picnic shelters in back are modeled after old store fronts and display the names of actual businesses that used to be along the highway. One of the volunteers said it has parking for 75 big trucks in back and that it’s a prototype/model for future rest area rehabs.

While I was gone, the construction zone went from 1 interior wall framed to all of them framed and windows were ordered πŸ™‚

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on “Get your kicks …

  1. Very cool! I can’t wait until Texas’ train is closer and I can do road trips.

  2. I’m sorry, Joy, but I refuse to admit that I’m old enough to remember that stuff;-P

  3. What a super rest stop! Hurray for construction progress.

  4. I thought I was back home! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

