Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Native color…

7 Comments

or at least mostly so. Apart from the phlox, these are flowers that are native to Missouri. I ordered a new book from the Missouri Conservation Commission website, Native Landscaping for Wildlife & People that I hope will be very helpful when we get past the construction phase and start to put things back together again. It’s got lots of information and excellent photos.

I waited too long to photograph the sunflower – it seems to have been mugged by a squirrel, as I found it on the ground several feet from the plant this afternoon.

This is eventually going to be my corner – it’s getting to the point where it’s easier to visualize the shape and size of the rooms. πŸ™‚

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

7 thoughts on “Native color…

  1. I love my blackberry lilies and butterfly weed. I used to have some Missouri primroses, but they finally gave up the ghost. Nothing prettier and easier to grow than native flowers. Of course, I love the phlox, too;-D

  2. I like your image of a squirrel mugging a sunflower! Too funny.

  3. Pretty! I do love sunflowers.

  4. Your own corner! Yay! Will it have glass in the windows and a real door and everything?

    We just keep mowing our sunflowers down. The sparrows made a horrendous mess under the birdfeeder and then didn’t eat all the seeds. πŸ™‚ The flower pix are so pretty- are they from your yard or your book?

  5. Yep, and even a real roof – the truss guy measured for the roof on Tuesday, and they’re supposed to come next week, while I’m at Knitting Camp πŸ™‚

  6. Pretty pretty pretty! Your new corner will be so cozy. We have bandit squirrels, too. They have it out for our zucchini.

  7. I keep getting the urge to rip out all the grass in one section of my yard, and plant regionally appropriate wild-flowers.
    If ripping out grass wasn’t so much dang work, I might even get it done. πŸ™‚
    Love your local ones though!

Leave a Reply

