Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Home …

3 Comments

My trip to Columbus on Thursday was way longer than planned – due, we heard, to not just 1 but 2 storms in Texas that shut the airport down, so absolutely everything (at least on Southwest Air) was running mega-late. I spent a lot of time in both the St. Louis and Chicago/Midway airports; instead of getting to Columbus at 4:20pm, I finally made it to bed at 2am. On the other hand, I met really interesting fiber folks in both places, so it was much better than it might have been, and the trip home was pretty much on time.

Friday morning, my roommate and I took a spinning class with Beth Smith – Amy King was there and I got a signed copy of Spin Control, which I’m looking forward to reading and applying. We sampled a variety of wools, wool-blends, silks, had a great time, and came home with plenty of fibers to play with. The only downside is that my bag of fibers went to Wisconsin in my roommate’s luggage, and I’ll have to wait until Knitting Camp to retrieve it 😦

In spite of the rough start, everything went well, I got some ideas, had a couple of good meetings and saw a lot of really gorgeous yarns. The neatest thing was when I visited Angel’s Kiss Alpaca Yarns booth (my alpaca yarn swatch for the show), one of the ladies had knitted Fade to Gray from Knitter’s in their yarn and it was displayed in the booth (apologies for the not-very-good phone shot!).

Fade to Gray ... errr Blue

Fade to Gray ... errr Blue

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Home …

  1. Yes, the storms were quite awful here. Tornadoes and wind damage. Glad you made it and had fun. Sorry about your fibers.

  2. Yes, but now the anticipation to see and get to fondle your fibers will be so neat!! And, that is one beautiful version of Fade to Gray.

  3. Travel woes – not fun. But it looks like the rest of the trip was worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

