Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Some thyme …

5 Comments

There was a definite wiggle in the patch of thyme – the cause turned out to be this small toad who was hanging around the back porch. He’s a very welcome addition to the local bug patrol, but I do hope he doesn’t run into the speckled king snake who’s lived under there in the past!

I saw several dragonflies around this evening – this one was more cooperative than the blue-bodied ones that kept moving too fast for a photo.

Since there was a nice bone left from the ham we had when the kids were here last week, I made a big pot of black bean soup (shown with rice, chopped onion, cilantro and sour cream) more or less following the recipe from Daisy Cooks! I may have made just a wee bit too much 😉 so will be putting several containers into the freezer for future meals.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “Some thyme …

  1. I had a little toad surprise me in the garden yesterday. They are welcome guests here also.

    The black bean soup sounds delicious on this chilly summer day!

  2. Awww. I love wild life, we have these tiny frogs everywhere and I’m always afraid to step on them. That black bean soup looks delicious!

  3. I love frozen meals! Especially this time of year when cooking is about the last thing I want to do. Bless your little toad. We’ve had a wet enough spring, maybe there little toadlets out there, too!

  4. I’m always happy to see a toad and keep meaning to set out a toad house. Yum, black bean soup is always a nice thing to have in the freezer.

  5. Mmmm, that soup looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

