Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Birds, flowers and cilantro

6 Comments

Spring is definitely bustin’ out around here! The hummers are back, although when I put the feeders out, I heard one buzzing me a day or 2 before I actually saw him. Due to the construction (still on hold), I had to relocate one feeder, but the hummers obviously don’t mind.
hummer

I’ve also heard several wrens singing, and this one was pretty cooperative with the crazy photo-nut πŸ˜‰
wren

The predominant flower colors right now seem to be pinkish/reddish, occasionally tinged with a dash of blue.

pink_red-copy

I’ve been using more cilantro lately, and found an easy way to keep it fresh longer. I’ve seen the “herb keepers” in the kitchen catalogues, and came up with my own (cheap!) version, consisting of a 1 1/2 pint wide mouth canning jar with an inch or so of water in the bottom (changed occasionally), a recycled plastic produce bag that’s large enough to fit over the jar and the herbs, and a rubber band to keep the whole thing together. I’ve had cilantro and parsley keep well over a week in the fridge this way.

herb1herb2

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Birds, flowers and cilantro

  1. I haven’t seen a hummer yet. Maybe tomorrow. Such pretty spring flowers. This wet spring has been a burst of color and growth, hasnt’ it? And I have a Carolina wren that eats at my suet feeder only.

  2. This is such a great time of year for color and song birds, too!

  3. Much as I admire your “keep it fresh in the fridge longer” technology, for the life of me I can’t figure out why anyone would want to keep cilantro at all. Is it actually edible?

  4. Smart! And unlike Judy, I love cilantro – great tip, and pretty birds!

  5. Super hummer photos. Cilantro is yummy in my book. Great way to keep it fresh!

  6. You definitely have more spring than we do right now. We are submerged in water everywhere with more rain possible! Love the birdie photos and especially the wren. Little Jenny Wren is not fond of having her photo taken and seems to fly away at the sight of my camera. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

