Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Popover!

4 Comments

Cathy at Noble Pig posted another recipe I just had to try: Noble Pig: It’s A Bird…It’s A Plane…. Asparagus Popover. Just the title … πŸ˜‰ It’s not exactly the same as the popovers* I fondly remember my grandmother making too many years ago, but it’s really good!

Asparagus Popover

Asparagus Popover

My main variation was mis-remembering the variety of cheese when I shopped, so I ended up using Emmentaler instead of gruyere, but I loved it.popover_slice

Himself, not so much, but mainly because of the total absence of meat. I think it’s a recipe that invites many variations, and I plan to try several more. Leftover ham or chicken comes to mind …

*My grandmother’s popovers were just flour, milk, eggs and a pinch of salt, beaten together and baked in greased custard cups. They raised up huge in the oven, and were mostly steam and air, surrounded by a crisp-on-the-outside, soft-on-the-inside shell, to be eaten while still hot, and slathered with butter or jam or … yum! I still have her custard cups, and I’ve fixed them for our kids, but I should probably pass the habit along to the grandkids as well.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on “Popover!

  1. That looks wonderful! And, yes, you need to pass the popover tradition on to the grandchildren. My Mom used to make them when we were kids and I adored them.

  2. Who doesn’t love a popover? Just saying the word is fun! The asparagus popover looks delicious!

  3. It looks like it turned out great!

  4. That looks wonderful!! Needs a nice, crisp white wine, I think…

Leave a Reply

