Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

On Ravelry!

3 Comments

The pattern for Bellflower Lace Scarf (Rav link) is done, and it’s now up for sale on Ravelry. I was amazed/gratified to see that someone bought a copy almost as soon as I posted it.

I don’t have a problem writing patterns, but have to admit that writing “ad copy” (blurbs) for them is another matter entirely! Thanks to Rachel of Dyeabolical Yarns, who gave me a big assist with thisβ€”she also dyes some awesome yarns and fiber – be sure to check them out.

If you don’t have cats or need an oversized cat pan, you can skip this part πŸ˜‰ Our Amber is a large girl (tall and long, ~13#), and most covered cat pans just aren’t big enough to suit her. I decided to make a custom pan from a covered storage container. V.1 worked pretty well, but the bottom of the opening was just a bit lower than was optimal.

V.2 is another, taller 35 gallon Sterilite container than V.1 (the smoothest bottom I could find), so the bottom of the opening is 8 1/2″ off the floor, and the opening is also 8 1/2″ high (container is 18 3/4″ high). I drew around the cardboard template, then very carefully cut the opening with a utility knife/box cutter. Her Highness has approved it (phew!).

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “On Ravelry!

  1. YAY! 13 lbs. She’s as big as Esau Marie. And, aren’t you smart to make your own covered litter box. So smart. And, congrats on the Bellflower pattern!

  2. That box is genius! My cat? My long, tall, starved-at-a-kitty-and-never-got-over-it cat is, no kidding, 25 lbs. Finding a nice sized box was challenging for us as well.

    Thanks for the shout out and link! I’m happy to write the copy. Like I said, I needed a distraction… πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for the inspiration. I have two large, long kitties and you’ve got the purrfect πŸ˜€ solution to a usable litter box.

Leave a Reply

