Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Sweater progress

7 Comments

The sweater is making progress, although I’m not really satisfied with the neckband. The yarn is 85% wool, but the silk (10%) and cashmere (5%) content that makes it feel so yummy, also makes the yarn behave more like cotton, so I may have to go back and reknit the neck ribbing on an even smaller needle than I already used (3.5mm/US4). Of course this only became apparent after I sewed it down 😦

sweater1

I had a request for a photo of the finished shawl for the Samantha’s Shawl KAL for Seasons of Lace, which unfortunately, I can’t do until I finish the current version. The original was lost somewhere along the line, but this is a half-shawl swatch I worked up in worsted weight that shows the pattern and the edges. While it was pinned out, I got several helpful remarks from Himself about making a Bat Cape … though I must admit that it does have a bat-like shape 😉

Swatch for Samantha's Shawl KAL

Swatch for Samantha's Shawl KAL

On the home front, after a nice big wok-ful of MaPoTofu for lunch, I changed the sheets. Maggie thought it was all lovely fun and just had to help out.

mapotofu

Added: The recipe I use is from Chinese Cuisine. The original uses tofu, green onion, ginger, garlic, ground pork, hot bean paste, soy sauce and a wee bit of “cooking wine or sherry”. I use rice wine, and usually add black bean paste with garlic, and mushrooms—fresh shiitakes if I have them, or dried ones, which I always have in the pantry. It’s topped with green onion tops and a sprinkle of ground Szechuan peppercorns. The meat is more of a seasoning, rather than the main event and the hot bean paste should be approached with caution, as it can be very spicy in quantity!

Helping make the bed.

Helping make the bed.

Not that it’s supposed to last, but we’re having a couple of lovely spring-like days and a chance to get outside and see what’s out there. I’ve been wanting to photograph this seedpod for quite some time.

ETA: I’ve been doing some research this morning, and I think the seedpod is probably from climbing milkweed – it looks like what I would usually think of as bindweed, so I may have pulled a lot of it as weeds 😉

seedpod_11seedpod_21cones1

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

7 thoughts on “Sweater progress

  1. Is that a bindweed??? I’ve had those and the seedpods are gorgeous. Love Maggie on the bed. Kitties are such helpers. And, the sweater is beautiful, as is that gorgeous swatch!

  2. Beautiful photos! It looks a bit like a milkweed but it wouldn’t be in/near a tree up here. It is a lovely swatch, err, bat cape. 😀

  3. I love, love, love the shawl even though it may resemble a bat just a smidgen. The sweater looks great too. I’m a big fan of red.

  4. I like the bat cape. And the kitty. And everything else. (I’m hungry, too.)

  5. Okay – now I want some chocolate chip cookies! Love your new header 🙂

    The shawl swatch does look like a bat! I love it and the sweater too!

    Everything is just yummy 🙂

  6. I like the bat cape shape!
    I wonder what it would look like as a 3/4 shawl … not quite a triangle, not a full square…
    I so do not need ANOTHER project. Much less a design project.
    And yet….

  7. Love the pattern of the shawl.

    What’s in MaPo Tofu?

Leave a Reply

