Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Brrr!

6 Comments

As Cindy mentioned, it’s been pretty cold here (unless you live in Wisconsin or Minnesota, in which case not so much so) – but colder than it’s been for at least 8 years. Even so, the ice crystals are pretty as long as I’m inside looking out.

(ETA: And we had a very rude awakeningthis morning to a 5:15am power outage at something like -1 – sheesh!)

frost_1

frost_2

I just received a copy of Creative Knitting, March 2009, with my “Diamond Lace Stole” in it – I’m pleased with the photo, but could definitely use the sample to wrap up in right now. It’s about 11th down in the gallery, which is alphabetized by the first letter of the designer’s first name.

When we went to St. Louis last Saturday, some yarn might have followed me home, maybe enough for a sweater, but it’s not cooperating with having its photo taken, at least not as far as the color is concerned. The color is wine, which describes it well – it’s darker and more – well, winey/burgundy than this, but it’s very soft and nice to pet! πŸ™‚

MerinoBold in Wine

MerinoGold in Wine

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Brrr!

  1. Congratulations!

    The ice crystals so look pretty, but I hate to think how cold it must be for them to look like that. Stay warm!

    xo

  2. Our storm doors look like your glass. I have even stuffed rugs and towels between the storm and wood doors and still have nothing but cold. Ah, well. It’s supposed to be better tomorrow. Where, oh where, can I find Creative Knitting?????? Dierbergs and Schnucks don’t handle it. Is it at Borders? I want it. Help! I love your new yarn. Sandy’s?

  3. That IS cold. I haven’t seen ice on the windows in years!

  4. Congrats! It is lovely. Brrr. And I thought 20’s was cold. I almost didn’t get on the plane back home Wednesday – seeing how it was in the high 70’s in L.A. /sigh I do miss the warm.

  5. Yeah, that’s cold. No doubt about it!

    Pretty color! Can’t wait to see what it becomes!

  6. I do like that color. What kind of sweater are you
    thinking of making? (Er….ah…..I wear an XL πŸ™‚
    It’s actually been cold in the deep south. We’ve
    been in the twenties…..at night that is, during the
    day it comes back up to the 40’s or 50’s. It’s 31 right now, with the wind chill it’s somewhere in
    the 20’s. Brrrr……for us anyway.

Leave a Reply

