Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

More knitting …

6 Comments

I’ve been knitting Samantha’s Christening Shawl from my Shawls booklet for the Winter edition of Seasons of Lace, and it’s quite addictive. The pattern stitch is Crest of the Wave, it’s currently up to 312 sts (78 sts in each quarter), and large enough to form its own knitting bag. This is probably the last time I’ll be able to spread it out flat until it’s done, as I almost lost some stitches at a couple of the corners. The yarn is Alpaca Sock, and very nice to knit with.

I made a big dish of scalloped potatoes the other day – it’s amazing how fast the food processor slices up 2 large onions, and pretty good pile of potatoes! I could hardly stuff them in fast enough to keep up with the machine. What a great improvement over slicing them all by hand, especially the onions, which usually make my eyes water horribly. This was followed by a pot of chicken soup, which turned out very well, so we’ll be set for a couple more days πŸ˜‰

The current Patrick Taylor book, An Irish Country Village, kept me up last night – I kept reading “just one more chapter” until much too late, but these books have been such fun! I would recommend reading them in order (instead of #3, #1 and then #2), but even if you don’t, they’re very enjoyable. I keep thinking our Amber is SO like Lady MacBeth, the cat in the story.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “More knitting …

  1. What is it with all these pictures of food on blogs? You are killing me. It all looks fabulous. And the shawl? Absolutely lovely! Last warmish day for the week. Stay warm and snuggy!

  2. mmm, potatoes…

    Pretty shawl. I have some Alpaca Socks. I’m thinking it’s too pretty to actually use for socks, though.

  3. Liking the shawl! I may have to do another square one. I did two Kerry Blue’s several years ago, and they both turned out too small (apparently I have to be hit over the head more than once). They make lovely table toppers. I suppose swatching next time might be a smart move. πŸ™‚

  4. Love the shawl. I love square shawls. And potatoes and even though I don’t love chicken soup, yours looks yummy.
    Stay warm!

  5. Liking the shawl too….
    I’m wondering… can you post a picture of a finished one on SoL somewhere? I’d love to see what the final object will look like.

  6. Thanks for the book selection—ALWAYS looking for good books!

Leave a Reply

