Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Too close for comfort

8 Comments

Because the supply looked pretty low, I actually measured out the flour before I mixed up anything else for a batch of cookies, and this was all that was left – definitely cutting it close.

Phew!

Phew!

Himself was making pitiful noises recently about “regular chocolate chip cookies” (ie. nothing but chocolate chips) so I baked some yesterday, and tried out a new kitchen toy tool. The racks worked out fine for cookies, but I don’t think they’re sturdy enough for anything much heavier than cookies or cake.Β  new-racks

I also wanted to take some cookies when I took the cats in for their annual checkup/shots. The vet and the gals who work for her are all really nice, and take good care of the critters, so I like to take some goodies along occasionally. The cookies were well received. Understandably neither Amber (13+#) nor Maggie (~10.5#) was particularly happy about the visit, but they were ready to eat after we got home. Here they were waiting to be fed – what’s unusual is that they’re not usually quite this chummy πŸ™‚

Waiting for dinner

Waiting for dinner

We’ve had lots of neat evening skies lately – I liked weathervane against the clouds.

Weathervane & Clouds

Weathervane & Clouds

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

8 thoughts on “Too close for comfort

  1. I like the weathervane picture, too. Lovely sky. And, the “girls”? Darling shot. Glad all is well in kittydom. Where do I sign up for the cookies?

  2. I love homemade cookies. One of my favorite is tassies or tossies? I think it calls for pecans, but we always did it with walnuts. YUM!

  3. I like the weather vane shot too. Ummm, it’s snowing on your blog….. Pretty neat as it goes over the above picture.

  4. scary close on that flour!
    I wonder if we’ve enough ingredients for cookies…
    No choc chips, but some Heath Bar chips are lurking in the pantry……
    hmmmm…
    .
    .
    Meanwhile…. now I need a weather vane on my gazebo. Thanks SO much πŸ™‚

  5. What beautiful cats you have! And a beautiful sky, too.

  6. Lovely evening sky photo, Joy. I made chocolate chip cookies today, too.

  7. I forgot to mention how much I like the little snowflakes on your blog page. Very cute!

  8. Mmmm, cookies and hurrah for measuring first. Great weather vane!

Leave a Reply

