Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

This ‘n That

5 Comments

One of the really wonderful things about blogging has been making new friends, and blogging just reconnected me with a friend and editor with whom I’d lost touch for much too long. She left a comment, I emailed her, and we had a nice phone chat this afternoon – color me very happy!

In spite of the lack of cooperation from the weather (it keeps raining!), we do have progress in the Construction Zone. First we had a trailer load of forms, and then another, and now the new basement is mostly formed up – I haven’t decided whether it looks more like a fort or a flood wall. There’s still some tweaking to be done, but it sounds like it should get poured either Friday or Monday, which may depend on the availability of the big truck with the conveyor.

Someone mentioned cooking oatmeal in the crockpot, which sounded like a good idea – I like oatmeal, but not the standing and stirring part. I looked around and decided to try this recipe for crockpot steelcut oatmeal. It calls for 2 cups of Irish/steelcut oats – I used 1 cup of oats, 2 cups of milk, 1/2 cup of water, a goodish handful of dried cranberries, and the waterbath method she describes. It turned out very well, except that next time I’ll use a little more liquid, and either set the temperature slightly higher, or start a little sooner, as I thought the oats were still too chewy when I first checked them. Next time, I also plan to spray the bowl with cooking spray πŸ˜‰

Since I’m a certifiable Chocoholic, and chocolate is now officially good for you, this dense hot chocolate sounds like a must-try!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “This ‘n That

  1. The oatmeal recipe sounds good. I think I’ll try it. It’s great weather for hot oatmeal at breakfast.

  2. I am so not a hot oatmeal person. I love baking with it, but the eating part, not so much. Still, I wish I liked it because it is so darned good for you. Your foundation forms look good. Now, to get them to pour the concrete and let the walls set a day or so.

  3. I love steel cut oats! Try them like rice pudding… they’re wonderful. Some vanilla and sugar. YUM!

  4. I wonder… what happens if you put chocolate into the oatmeal? I’ll bet my girls would eat THAT for breakfast :-)!

    Now… to buy a timer so I can have the oatmeal ready when we get up in the morning. It surely can’t mean to be cooking for 8 hours… can it??

  5. I eat hot cereal- oatmeal or Sunnyboy- every day. I find that steel-cut oats need a three to one water-cereal ratio, and I don’t add any salt. Instead, I add a couple of tablespoons of sunflower seeds (currrently using half salted, half plain) about halfway through cooking. I don’t mind making it in a saucepan, since I do have the time and it may be the most domestic thing I do all day (including supper). Too bad no-one’s around to see me do it.

Leave a Reply

