Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Cookies!

5 Comments

At the store the other day, I saw chocolate chips made with semisweet and white chocolate, and just had to try them – your classic impulse purchase. The recipe on the bag is almost the old standard for Toll House Cookies, except it calls for mixing 1 cup of the chips into the cookies and reserving the other 2/3 cup to put on top (I also left out the nuts, as I didn’t have any handy). I like easy, so I mixed them all in but there’s really no advantage to the swirled ones that way. The cookies are good, of course, especially right out of the oven, but I think the all semisweet ones taste more chocolatey. It’s a Good Thing I don’t do this very often, as neither of us has ever met a warm chocolate chip cookie we didn’t like πŸ˜‰

By the way, I don’t mind making drop cookies nearly as much since I got my handy little 1-1/4″ ice cream-type scoop – for me it works best if I chill the cookie dough a while before scooping. Sometimes I freeze the balls of dough, then wrap them, and just take out a few at a time. I can do 4-6 in the toaster oven.

Cookie dough

Cookie dough

Cookies!

Cookies!

We’re hoping the concrete guys will be here bright and early in the morning to start on the next step in our own Big Dig!

Grass & sky

Grass & sky

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “Cookies!

  1. MMM, cookies. I have one of those scoops, too – isn’t it great?

  2. Oooh, I can almost taste the cookies. Yummy. Thank goodness I don’t have a working oven right now;–) The guys should be there in about 15 minutes (I hope, I hope). I’m hoping our ramp dudes show up today.

  3. I meant the guys should be at your house. Sheesh. It’s early and it’s Monday.

  4. Who doesn’t love warm Chocolate Chip cookies! They can’t be beat in my opinion and your look great. Neither of us can be trusted if chocolate chip cookies are in the house and I wouldn’t even trust myself to have the frozen balls of dough in the freezer. That would make it too tempting to make a small batch all too frequently. (Maybe I could try it as a form of discipline.)

  5. What a great idea to chill the dough and use a scoop. Love the frozen/little batches idea, too, though I think I’d find frozen chocolate chip cookie dough balls altogether irresistible!

Leave a Reply

