Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Actual knitting content!

6 Comments

Finally some knitting I can write about! One of the previous stealth-knitting projects is now published, so I can mention that my Cabled Hearts Pullover is in the December issue of Knit ‘N Style (3rd row down in the gallery). The yarn is Super Tajmahal from Plymouth (merino superfine, silk and just a bit of cashmere) – it’s one of those yarns you’d just love to roll in πŸ˜‰ There’s a lot more knitting going on, but it’s either gifties or for future publication, so I can’t share yet.

I use the long-tail cast on for practically everything, and I’ve always used the same side as the right side (top) until recently when I decided that I prefer the look of the “wrong” or bumpy side (bottom) with K1, P1 Rib. Which one do you prefer?

Which side do you prefer?

Which side do you like?

The weather’s been pleasant, and at least for the moment, not raining. I’ve been appreciating the amazing (I’ve used this word a lot!) difference in colors since I had the first cataract surgery, but it has been a challenge to work with 1 farsighted (new) eye and 1 very nearsighted (old) eye, so it will be nice to get the 2nd one done and have a matched set next week!

Meanwhile, here are some of the colors I’ve been enjoying. With all the rain we’ve had this year, there have been bumper crops of mushrooms, persimmons (the birds love them), walnuts and mosquitos (they were swarming around the tomatoes for some reason), and a volunteer melon in the compost.

We’ve ordered a new dishwasher. Of course it wasn’t in stock … it should be in next week. Can’t wait!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

6 thoughts on “Actual knitting content!

  1. Lovely and colorful collage. The colors are so rich this fall. And, interesting. And, yay for no rain here either. I’m so happy. The mold is ghastly and I’m ready for a frost, but not really. Congrats on the coming new dishwasher and, excuse me, I’m heading out to find the website for your newly published sweater pattern.

  2. I LOVE THAT PATTERN!~ It’s beautiful. In fact, I think I’m gonna knit it. I’m gonna go to Ravelry and queue it right now. Then, I have to find the magazine.

  3. Thanks Cindy! I just discovered that Knit ‘N Style has the online photos of all the designs in each issue, and linked to the previous ones as well.

  4. I’ll have to check out the pattern as well. Love the photos of autumn at your place. It’s amazing what we see when we really look around us, isn’t it?

  5. VERY exciting! Congratulations – and lovely pattern!! I’ve never looked at that magazine, but now that I see some of the really cute patterns, including yours, I’m going to have to get a copy!

  6. Which side I like depends on what I’m doing with what comes next πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

