Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Once upon a time …

3 Comments

I thought it would be nice to have garlic chives for cooking – silly me! I’ve found that they’re highly invasive, and when they really get going, the roots will form a mat that will choke out almost anything else. They’re also practically impossible to get rid of, unlike regular chives, which don’t seem to like it here! I’m willing to let them have some areas, but am trying to keep them out of my flowers.

So the plan is to enjoy the pretty white flowers, and all the butterflies, bees, and other insects they attract, then attempt to keep them from spreading by cutting the tops back before all the seeds ripen (note the little 3-sided capsules in some of the photos). I’ve seen more bees since they’ve been in bloom than I’ve seen all summer.

1, 3, 7 & 9, Garlic chives; 2 & 8, Red salvia; 4, Purple salvia; 5, Clematis; 6, Purple nicotiana.

1, 3, 7 & 9, Garlic chives; 2 & 8, Red salvia; 4, Purple salvia; 5, Clematis; 6, Purple nicotiana.

I had cataract surgery on my right eye yesterday (Tuesday), and the difference in colors between the “new” eye and the “old” eye is beyond amazing! Because the cataracts came on gradually over time, or at least mine did, I had no idea how much what I see had changed, and I’m like a kid with a new toy πŸ˜‰

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

3 thoughts on “Once upon a time …

  1. It’s amazing after the surgery. My Mom had it several years ago and she spent weeks remarking on the beautiful colors. Enjoy. And, the garlic chives? I have the same problem with old fashioned garlic. I’ve been pulling it from inappropriate garden areas for about 10 years now. Infuriating!

  2. Removing the flowering tops should help keep them under control. You also might want to think about growing regular garlic. I use the greens from that in salads as a chive without having to bother and fight the regular garlic ones.

    I’m so glad you’re seeing better!

  3. Glad your surgery went well. My dad had it a few months ago, and he’s running around smugly without his glasses now. (Still scares me when he drives, but that has nothing to do with his eyes. More his gas foot.)

    I may have to try Cookie’s idea about growing regular garlic. The stuff I get in stores up here in insipid.

Leave a Reply

