Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Yarn Doodling Again

5 Comments

I was flipping through one of the Japanese knitting books I got from Needle Arts Book Shop back in February, looking for design ideas, and found a basketweave pattern I wanted to swatch:

Side A

Swatch: Side A

When I flipped it over, I found that the other side is just as nice. I love patterns with 2 good sides, sort of a 2-for-1!

Side B

Swatch: Side B

Hope everyone is safe and had a good weekend!

Monday evening sky

Monday evening sky

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “Yarn Doodling Again

  1. Joy, once again I see we have something in common. I’m a great fan of the Japanese pattern books (got a whole batch from Needle Arts Books, too!) and although I have not yet swatched any of the stitches (I’m still quite a beginner) I really like to drool over the pictures. Cheers!
    Roberta
    Knitterliness on Ravelry

  2. That is so pretty. Are you bracing for the rain from Gustav? I have heard it could be heavy. yay. I want a steady slow rain. Why won’t anybody listen to me???

  3. Very nice! That would be a cute dishcloth… if I made dishcloths!!

  4. I’ve been a fan of the Japanese knitting books for a long time now, though the charting system takes a little getting used to. Where it’s *too* different, I often rechart the pattern in more familiar symbols. The photos in the more recent books are better than in some of the older ones, where stitch patterns were sometimes sampled in yarns that were either a bit too dark or too fuzzy to show them to best advantage.

  5. Beautiful sunset photo!

Leave a Reply

