Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Somewhat ethnically confused …

1 Comment

chicken soup – besides chicken (I had to settle for a fryer, as stewing hens are hard to come by unless we make it to Soulard Market up in St. Louis), it’s got shiitake mushrooms, bok choy, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, rice wine, onions, carrots … and Farfalle Piccolini (mini-bowtie) pasta plus some generic white wine, (because the bottle of rice wine ran dry – must get more for stir-fry sauces). It’s quite tasty, and again, enough for us, the freezer and some to share.

I’ve started another pair of socks with the Meilenweit Multieffekt yarn from my trip – one of the self-patterning ones. It’s going quickly because I just have to see what the color is going to do next. It’s intended as a gift, so I’ll have to wait to share photos.

There are finally some tomatoes on the 2 plants I got put in – the cherry tomato has been setting quite a few, and there are some on the other plant, which are supposed to be yellow ones, but I do wonder if they’ll make it in time. Somehow ripening pokeberries suggest that fall may not be too far away!

1. Garlic chives, 2. Coreopsis, 3. Tomatoes, 4. Shelf fungus, 5. Thistle with crab spider, 6. Sunflower, 7. Pokeberries, 8. Marigolds, 9. Tick trefoil (sticktight)

1. Garlic chives, 2. Coreopsis, 3. Tomatoes, 4. Shelf fungus, 5. Thistle with crab spider, 6. Sunflower, 7. Pokeberries, 8. Marigolds, 9. Tick trefoil (sticktight)

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

One thought on “Somewhat ethnically confused …

  1. I enjoyed the entire montage until I got to the sticktights. I hate those buggers. Grover gets them in his fur and hauls them into the house. I find them in my socks and on my back. Plus the whole plant sticks to you. Oh, I’m sorry. I kinda got carried away. We have Moonbeam coreopsis, not the bigger kind like yours. Yours is beautiful!
    Thanks! I agree about the sticktights – Toby has soft fur that really attracts them, but I couldn’t resist the flowers πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

