Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Goin’ to Kansas City …

1 Comment

We’re going to visit our daughters and their families for a couple of days – I do wish the forecast were a little cooler, but guess that’s too much to hope for in July in Missouri! One drawback to going on such short notice is that we usually board the critters at our vet’s, but they’re full and a bit more, so Toby is coming along, and a friend is coming to check on and feed the girls every day. Not sure how that’s going to work out – we may have 1 very chubby cat and 1 somewhat thinner cat 😉

I recently got a ball of Lana Grossa Meilenweit Cotton sock yarn in a yummy shade of red – that’s some seriously nice yarn! I contracted a bad case of startitis, did some swatching and started a new sock. I ended up on size 0 (2mm) needles, but could only find a set of metal ones, and the yarn dragged very annoyingly on them. I’m not sure what made me think of it, but we used to rub the kids’ sled runners with a piece of waxed paper to make them slicker, and it worked on the needles too. I’d still rather be using my experienced bamboos, but it was sure an improvement.

There are still a few things blooming around the yard now. I was especially glad to see this daylily. Some years ago, my folks used to grow and hybridize daylilies, and Clear Day is one of Mom’s. I have 2 clumps of it, and both are in bloom.

The other yellow flower is one that comes up along the fence, but so far I haven’t identified it. I just recognize the plant, and avoid mowing it – also I think the birds enjoy the seeds later.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

One thought on “Goin’ to Kansas City …

  1. Have a great time! I love the daylily and I cannot use bamboo. I can use it, but I break them when I stuff the project in my purse.

Leave a Reply

