Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A few lessons along the way …

2 Comments

Some things I’ve learned – don’t ask how I know, I’m sure you’ve been there too πŸ˜‰

  1. If you’ve made a sleeve cap too short, it’s NOT going to fit the armhole, no matter how hard you wish (nor will it magically get longer aging in your knitting bag). Grit your teeth and make it longer – a do-over in knitting is way easier than in sewing!
  2. If you don’t want a lot of leftover gravy and no meat, always serve it already cut up in the gravy.
  3. If there isn’t enough meat, add some mushrooms or vegetables and it will look like plenty.
  4. Just a little bacon will go a long way in a frittata.

On a totally unrelated note, I had a very good trip to TNNA in Columbus, there was an amazing amount of yarn to fondle and I met some editors and yarn company folks, got to meet Abby Franquemont and do fiber and spinning therapy in Louet’s booth πŸ˜‰ I also hung out with some long time friends – definitely a good time. Of course now I’m trying frantically to catch up and meet a couple of deadlines, then review my show notes before I totally forget everything that happened …

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “A few lessons along the way …

  1. πŸ˜‰ Great tips! Welcome back!

  2. I would think the same goes for the armscye.

    I tend to think I’m shorter waisted than I am too.

    Maybe it’s just that I’m eager to try the things on?

Leave a Reply

