Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Tagged!

2 Comments

Susan tagged me for a meme that I’ve seen going around. I like Tamara‘s idea of not specifically tagging anyone (not sure how many are left who haven’t already done it) but would love to read everyone’s answers!

The Rules:

Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

  1. What I was doing 10 years ago:
    A lot of the same things I’m doing now – designing and doing technical editing. Himself was still working midnight shift then, so I had to get him off to work every evening (retirement 2 years ago was definitely culture shock!). The kids were already out on their own, grandson Nathan was born in Feb of 98; but MIL was still living with us (she died in Sept of 98 at the age of 98).
  2. What 5 things are on on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):
    Update my portfolio and design proposals, figure out what to pack for TNNA; finish at least 1 of the 3 sweater pieces currently on the needles (added later: got 2 of the pieces done, still need to do the #’s), and work out #’s for the remaining piece; move houseplants outside and set up the sprinkler for them (finished! partially done).
  3. Snacks I enjoy:
    Homemade chocolate chip cookies, chocolate, peanuts and cashews, and did I mention chocolate?
  4. Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
    Put a bunch away for the grandkids’ college educations, then I’d buy a bit more land as a buffer and get on with the addition we’ve been discussing forever. I’d help support our church’s programs, probably help our vet complete her new clinic that’s been in process for a *long* time. A housekeeper, a yard man and at least a sous chef don’t sound like a bad idea either – I like to cook, but some of the prep and clean up work aren’t all that much fun 😉
  5. Places I have lived:
    I have lived in New Orleans LA; Yonkers NY; Arlington VA; Guatemala; Kirkwood MO; Parkville MO (NW of Kansas City); Webster Groves MO; and Cadet MO (43 years!).
Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “Tagged!

  1. Guatemala! That is something I didn’t know about you. I bet that was interesting.

    P.S. The idea of not tagging anyone didn’t cross my mind!

  2. Here’s my list:

    What I was doing 10 years ago:
    Falling apart – lost my apartment, my studio, my database, my library, all in separate incidents. I was at a turning point, giving up a 30-year career in dance, moving house, trying to find a job that worked for me.

    5 things on today’s to-do list:
    Stop at the LYS to return a book that I already had and pick up some DPNs (but I ended up with a shawl pattern and some sock yarn as well); call the house painter and the contractor to schedule work on my mother’s house; go to the Tibet store and buy a beautiful White Tara tanka (and some incense and a lovely sandalwood bead bracelet); pick up laundry detergent at Trader Joe’s; call my dear friend with brain cancer to set up a visit for tomorrow.

    Snacks I enjoy: Peanut butter cookies, HaagenDasz Frozen Vanilla Yogurt with Raspberry sorbet; carrot juice; peaches, nectarines and apricots for the next couple of weeks until they’re past their peak; Wheat thins with chevre and home-made chutney.

    Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
    1. Buy or build a small house for me and a cat, with sun and shade, a studio space for art and dancing, and a craft room. Southwest exposure, fully off-grid for power and water, good soil for gardening. My dream home!
    2. Donate sustaining sums to my favorite charities (Doctors Without Borders, Woman to Woman International, Greenpeace, ACLU)
    3. Pay off my mom’s house so it won’t leave the family.
    4. Travel – I want to see Italy, Thailand, Nepal, Egypt and Morocco, Portugal, Spain, southern France – OK, I’d probably travel A LOT!

    Places I have lived:
    1. California (lots of places – born in Visalia, moved to the SF Peninsula and have settled at the moment in Menlo Park, lived in a tent in the Santa Cruz Mountains, in a mansion in Belvedere, in San Francisco, Berkeley, Marin County, and Oakland, up in the Sierras and on the Pacific Coast – literally, walk out the door and there’s the ocean in front of you!)
    2. Salt Lake City (briefly while pregnant)
    3. Jersey Village, Texas (blame my parents – I was only 6)

    Hope you had a great time in Columbus – I guess I should add a world tour of yarn and fiber festivals to my billionaire list!

Leave a Reply

