Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Soup of the evening …

Leave a comment

Cruising the grocery store aisles a couple of weeks ago, a package of Sweet Italian Sausage Tortelloni caught my attention — somehow it whispered “soup” to me. Things got hectic, and I tossed the package in the freezer, out of sight, but definitely not out of mind, and one evening recently it became soup, and quite tasty soup at that! I suspect the leftovers may be even yummier after the flavors blend a while.

Tortelloni Soup

1 large onion, 2 stalks celery, medium chop – sauté in olive oil in a large kettle until soft. Add 32 oz chicken broth (I used Swanson’s Natural Goodness, which has less sodium), 1 (15 oz) can stewed tomatoes, cut up, plus a can of water, about 1/2 cup dried mushrooms, soaked, drained and cut up, bring to a boil, then add 1 (9 oz) package of Tortelloni (I used Buitoni) and about 8 oz frozen mixed vegetables. Return to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until everything is cooked through, adding approx 6 oz frozen leaf spinach for about the last 5 minutes. Add more liquid as needed – this makes a pretty thick soup. Season to taste (I used Mrs Dash Tomato, Basil & Garlic, plus a shot of Penzey’s Italian Sausage Seasoning). Garnish with grated pecorino or parmesan cheese if desired. It would be good with crusty Italian bread and a salad. Enjoy!

While I’m on the subject of food, which seems to be a recurring theme 😉 Nora had another keeper recipe last week for “Nameless Asian Noodle Dish”. It’s almost all ingredients that are permanently in my fridge or pantry – I just had to get the bean sprouts. I used Thai rice noodles because I had them, ground pork which I keep in the freezer for a tofu dish we like, and chunky peanut butter – the results were very tasty! I’d probably add just a bit more heat than I did this time, and cut back on the bean sprouts. Himself wanted to know why I didn’t make more – maybe because the skillet was already on the verge of overflowing? Anyhow, thanks Nora!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

Leave a Reply

