Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Fini!

9 Comments

Moth Wings is done! I’m not sure whether I’m glad or sorry that it’s finished – I did enjoy working on it. I suspect that more Malabrigo Lace just might be on my list of yarns to revisit. Final stats: approx 200 grams of yarn, just small amounts left of the 2 skeins; approx size 12 x 90 inches. I wimped out on using blocking wires, which would probably change the final measurements.

What I would change: I would probably get another skein and make it at least 1 repeat wider, if not 2. I will write the instructions for it, and calculate for a wider version. Will I make another one? Probably not – much as I enjoyed it, life’s too short to knit it more than once πŸ˜‰ I still haven’t gotten a truly satisfactory photo, but here’s the best I have so far:

Besides this, I got about 3 deadline things out of my life in the last few days (whew!) – there are always more, but none is terribly pressing right now, which is a relief.

When I was outside, looking for a suitable place to take pictures, I found a few more things in bloom. The mock orange just has a few blossoms open now, but should have lots more soon. It has such a lovely scent!

According to the Peterson Field Guide to Wildflowers, blue-eyed grasses are members of the iris family, which surprised me, as it’s hard to see any resemblance between them, except possibly the leaf shape!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

9 thoughts on “Fini!

  1. Joy, Moth Wings is just stunning! Wow! Are you going to model it?

    I’ve given up on understanding botany – I just enjoy the results!!

  2. WOW! Joy, that shawl is gorgeous! and aptly named!

    Do you visit winterwoman’s blog? She just had a post about wildflower i.d.

  3. That is a gorgeous wrap! Well done, you.

  4. I see we both like to take pictures and knit lace too! I love your Moth Wings, and your wildflowers too.

  5. MothWings is wonderful. I love the green. My sisirhynchium are only just putting forth their leaves-I love when they bloom. Iris? I had no idea. Thanks for the lesson!

  6. It is beautiful! Love the color too. :o)

  7. Moth Wings is quite lovely, especially the color. I wish the dye had taken on my Victorian Lace scarf, as that’s exactly what I was hoping for. Maybe I’ll try again and use a stronger solution.

    Your garden adventures are beautiful. Someday maybe a larger garden (with more sun) will come my way too. And your kitties? Sweeeeet!

  8. Your Moth Wings shawl is beautiful. Looks as
    light as…..moth wings! πŸ™‚

    We also had a mock orange when I was young.
    Mom had it growing right by the steps in front.
    It’s funny, I hadn’t thought about it in ages. thanks for the photo. The house belongs to some-
    one else now and the mock orange is long gone.

  9. I love your moth wings shawl! Beautiful work and colorway! Also, thanks so much for the birthday wishes on my blog πŸ™‚ I’m off to read more of your blog now!

Leave a Reply

