Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Rep from * …

2 Comments

Moth Wings is half done, more or less! There’s a little of the first ball left, but I’m not sure it’s enough for another 12 rows, so I’ve started again from the other end. Fortunately, when I emailed Sandy, Knitorious had more of the same dyelot, so I went back and got a 2nd skein, and I’m currently 2 repeats into the other half, eventually to meet in the middle.

It’s also now on needle #4. I hadn’t tried Addi Turbo Lace needles before, but I got one on Thursday, and I’m really liking the scoopy points <technical term for a bit concave>, at least for this project. One caution – the finish is very slick, and it’s way easy to drop a bunch off the end. Of course I discovered this the hard way. 😦 On the other hand, if/when you have to frog, the points make it easier than usual to get all the stitches back on the needle.

I had it along Friday when we did our errands, when we nearly drowned in “brief periods of showers” – as in rain (7/8″) the whole time we were out. We had lunch at a Chinese buffet. As I quit eating before Himself, naturally I took out my knitting, which caused a mini-riot. All 5 of the girls who work there came over to look at it, chattering away in Chinese – unfortunately I don’t speak/understand a single word, so I don’t know what was said, but there was certainly a lot of yarn petting happening. The one with the most English pointed to the garter stitch edge and said she could do that, and that she used straight needles. I don’t think they were familiar with circulars. She also wanted me to make her 1 in pink – sorry, I’m just not a pink person! 😉

In the ancient and honorable tradition of hardly ever making a recipe as written, I fixed a pot of soup from a package of Santa Fe Corn Chowder I picked up at World Market. The package contained dried beans <a nice mix>, corn and seasonings, to which you’re supposed to add chopped onions, peppers, chicken broth, white wine, a can each of tomatoes and corn, and chicken. For openers, I didn’t have any chicken at hand, so I subbed some chorizo and andouille that were in the meat drawer, then there was a bunch of kale in the fridge that had achieved “must-go” status. The seasoning seemed a little mild, so in went 2 packets of Sazón Goya – I think it’s getting there. Soup of the Evening, beautiful soup …
Soup of the Evening

I went out in the yard, planning to get a photo of the crab apple blossoms – well no, the flowers are all way up in the very top, totally out of range, but I did see a hummer up there, so I’d better get the feeders out. Usually they hover outside the kitchen window when they come back, but there must be enough flowers for them right now.

However I did find a neat daffodil and catkins on the hophornbeam tree.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “Rep from * …

  1. Oh, nice taste of the moth wings! I can’t wait to see the whole thing.

    Your soup looks and sounds excellent. I’m a huge kale fan – no one else here likes it much.

  2. Never heard of a “hophornbeam” tree. I assume
    I’ve seen them before, just never heard the name.
    Does it have another name?

    Soup sounds good. I love spicy soups…or anything spicy for that matter. Gloria

Leave a Reply

